Rough Cut Science

IoE Rough Cut Seminar Series

UM Talk (Mondays at Noon) MSU Talk (Wednesdays at Noon)

Chris Gammons
Montana Tech

Using Isotopes of Dissolved Oxygen and Dissolved Inorganic Carbon as Tracers of Biogeochemical Processes in Natural Waters

Mon Jan 28 - 12:00pm
327 University Center UM

Using Isotopes of Dissolved Oxygen and Dissolved Inorganic Carbon as Tracers of Biogeochemical Processes in Natural Waters

Wed Jan 30 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Laurie Yung
The University of Montana - Missoula

Iterative Scenario Building to Understand Social-Ecological Vulnerability and Adaptive Capacity in Rural Communities

Mon Feb 4 - 12:00pm
327 University Center UM

Iterative Scenario Building to Understand Social-Ecological Vulnerability and Adaptive Capacity in Rural Communities

Wed Feb 6 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Wyatt Cross
Montana State University - Bozeman

Linking Foodweb and Ecosystem Ecology to Understand Responses of Freshwater Ecosystems to Global Change

Mon Feb 25 - 12:00pm
327 University Center UM

Linking Foodweb and Ecosystem Ecology to Understand Responses of Freshwater Ecosystems to Global Change

Wed Feb 27 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Clem Izurieta
Montana State University - Bozeman

Reducing the Technical Debt of Ecosystem Informatics

Mon Mar 4 - 12:00pm
327 University Center UM

Reducing the Technical Debt of Ecosystem Informatics

Wed Mar 6 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Aaron Thomas
The University of Montana - Missoula

Research, STEM Education, and the Native American Research Laboratory (NARL)

Mon Mar 25 - 12:00pm
327 University Center UM

Research, STEM Education, and the Native American Research Laboratory (NARL)

Wed Mar 27 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Jakki Mohr
The University of Montana - Missoula

Exploring how Managers and Practitioners Use Best Practices Science

Mon Apr 29 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM - NOTE Room Change

Exploring how Managers and Practitioners Use Best Practices Science

Wed Apr 3 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Robb Diehl
USGS

A Biologist's Perspective on Advances in Remote Sensing the Airspace

Mon Apr 15 - 12:00pm
327 University Center UM

A Biologist's Perspective on Advances in Remote Sensing the Airspace

Wed Apr 17 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Tim McDermott
Montana State University - Bozeman

Methane in the Mountains: Part II

Mon Sep 9 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM

Methane in the Mountains: Part II

Wed Sep 11 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Michelle Flenniken
Montana State University

Honey Bee Pathogen and Pathway Discovery

Mon Sep 16 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM

Honey Bee Pathogen and Pathway Discovery

Wed Sep 18 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Katrina Mullan
The University of Montana - Missoula

The Price of our Vanishing Forests: A Spatial Hedonic Study of Ecosystem Services in the Brazilian Amazon

Mon Sep 30 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM

The Price of our Vanishing Forests: A Spatial Hedonic Study of Ecosystem Services in the Brazilian Amazon

Wed Oct 2 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Ray Callaway
The University of Montana - Missoula

Soil biota and exotic plant invasions

Mon Oct 14 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM

Soil biota and exotic plant invasions

Wed Oct 16 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Martha E Apple
Montana Tech of the University of Montana

Snowfield Plants, Functional Traits, and Climate Change in Glacier National Park, New Zealand, and Scotland

Mon Oct 21 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM

Snowfield Plants, Functional Traits, and Climate Change in Glacier National Park, New Zealand, and Scotland

Wed Oct 23 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Ashley Ballantyne
The University of Montana - Missoula

Carbon-Climate Feedbacks: stomatal response to future warming

Mon Nov 4 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM

Carbon-Climate Feedbacks: stomatal response to future warming

Wed Nov 6 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Jia Hu
Montana State University

Climate impacts on forest ecohydrology from hydrological and physiological perspectives

Mon Nov 18 - 12:00pm
330 University Center UM

Climate impacts on forest ecohydrology from hydrological and physiological perspectives

Wed Nov 13 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Laura Burkle
Montana State University - Bozeman

Plant-pollinator Interactions and Diversity Across Scales

Mon Dec 2 - 12:00pm
University Center Theater UM

Plant-pollinator interactions and diversity across scales

Wed Dec 4 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Andy Hansen
Montana State University - Bozeman

Assessing Vulnerability of Ecosystems to Climate Change in the Northern Rockies

Mon Feb 10 - 12:00pm
UC 333

Assessing Vulnerability of Ecosystems to Climate Change in the Northern Rockies

Wed Feb 12 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Ben Poulter
Montana State University - Bozeman

Interdisciplinary applications of global terrestrial carbon cycle models

Mon Feb 24 - 12:00pm
333 University Center UM

Interdisciplinary applications of global terrestrial carbon cycle models

Wed Feb 19 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Marco Maneta
The University of Montana - Missoula

Detectability of precipitation trends over western Montana

Mon Mar 3 - 12:00pm
333 University Center UM

Detectability of precipitation trends over western Mont

Wed Feb 26 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Joe Shaw
Montana State University - Bozeman

No Rough Cut - MSU spring break

Mon Mar 10 - 12:00pm
No Rough Cut Today

Fishing with a laser: development of an airborne lidar for studying fisheries and lake ecology

Wed Mar 5 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Diana Six
The University of Montana - Missoula

A tale of a beetle and two fungi: How a partnership built an empire (and may lead to its demise)

Mon Mar 17 - 12:00pm
333 University Center UM

A tale of a beetle and two fungi: How a partnership built an empire (and may lead to its demise)

Wed Mar 19 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Ryan Jones
Montana State University

Microbial Ecology across Montana: Native Bees, Soils, and Floodplains

Mon Apr 7 - 12:00pm
337 University Center UM

Microbial Ecology across Montana: Native Bees, Soils, and Floodplains

Wed Apr 9 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU


Julia Haggerty
Montana State University

CANCELED: Social Responses to Rapid Land Use Change: Field Notes on Links between Governance, Monitoring and Adaptation

Mon Apr 21 - 12:00pm
333 University Center UM

CANCELED: Social Responses to Rapid Land Use Change: Field Notes on Links between Governance, Monitoring and Adaptation

Wed Apr 23 - 12:00pm
126 EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) MSU

Recent Rough Cut Videos/Screencasts

Shaw, Joseph - Mar 5 2014



Maneta, Marco - Feb 26 2014



Poulter, Ben - Feb 19 2014



Hansen, Andrew - Feb 12 2014



Burkle, Laura - Dec 4 2013



Hu, Jia - Nov 13 2013



Ballantyne, Ashley - Nov 6 2013



Callaway, Ragan - Oct 16 2013



Mullan, Katrina - Oct 2 2013



Flenniken, Michelle - Sep 18 2013



Partners

MSU IoE Office

Montana State University
106 AJM Johnson Hall
Bozeman, MT 59717
(406) 994-2374
MSU Director: Cathy Whitlock

UM IoE Office

The Universityi of Montana

The University of Montana
Davidson Honors College
Missoula, MT 59812
(406) 243-4848
UM Director: Ric Hauer

Montana EPSCoR

Program Director:  Ray Callaway
Project Administrator: Todd Kipfer
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812
(406) 243-2617

Montana University System

Montana University System

Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
2500 Broadway Street
Helena, MT 59620
406-444-6570