DOI North Central Climate Science Center

The North Central Climate Science Center (NC CSC) is part of a network of eight CSCs created to provide scientific information, tools, and techniques that managers and other parties interested in land, water, wildlife and cultural resources can use to anticipate, monitor, and adapt to climate change. 

The NC CSC is hosted by a consortium of nine institutions: Colorado State University - Fort Collins, University of Colorado, Colorado School of Mines, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, Montana State University, University of Wyoming, University of Montana, Kansas State University, and Iowa State University. In addition to the host institutions, the NC CSC also includes important partner institutions.

These institutions provide expertise in climate science, ecology, impacts assessment, modeling, urban environments, and advanced information technology.  This expertise is needed to deal with climate issues in the North Central US, where changes in temperature and precipitation could have significant effects on streams, forests,  agricultural lands, and mountain ecosystems, in addition to the fish, wildlife, and human communities supported by these environments.


MSU IoE Office

Montana State University
605 Leon Johnson Hall
Bozeman, MT 59717
(406) 994-2374
MSU Director: Bruce Maxwell

UM IoE Office

The Universityi of Montana

The University of Montana
Davidson Honors College
Missoula, MT 59812
(406) 243-6058
UM Director: Maury Valett


Montana University System

Montana University System

Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
2500 Broadway Street
Helena, MT 59620